Your cart

Cheeky March Madness Concludes With Wild Finish

Cheeky March Madness Recap

April 2015

Arlington, MA — The 2015 Cheeky March Madness: Road to the Final Fish tournament wrapped up on April 6th with an epic championship bout between Golden Dorado and Permit. In what finished as the closest championship match in event history, Golden Dorado edged Permit 50.57%-49.43% to earn the title of 2015’s Top Fish on the Fly!

From the championship match to the opening round, 2015 was the year of the upset, perhaps none bigger than Redfish’s convincing victory over 3-time Cheeky March Madness Champion Rainbow Trout. Rainbow Trout wasn’t the only perennial powerhouse to have an early exit, however. Musky, Mako Shark and Landlocked Salmon all saw their title bids come to an end in the event’s initial round.

While many high seeds fell early, it was four old favorites in the Final Four. Permit, Tarpon, Bonefish and Golden Dorado all advanced to the 2015 semifinals in impressive fashion, culminating in Golden Dorado’s exciting triumph over Permit in the final round. 

While Golden Dorado celebrated its first championship in 2015, as always, the real winners were Casting for Recovery and Bonefish & Tarpon Trust. Cheeky Fly Fishing has hosted Cheeky March Madness since 2011 to benefit these two great organizations. This year, Cheeky March Madness raised over $1,000 and reached over 50,000 people through websites, blogs and social media to benefit CFR and BTT. 

Cheeky would like to thank everyone who donated, voted and helped make the 2015 March Madness Tournament a success. A special thank you is also in order to all of the event’s sponsors. This year, tournament sponsors donated over $5,000 worth of prizes. Sponsors include Sage, Costa Del Mar, Oskar Blues, Patagonia, FreeFly Apparel, FishPond, Loon Outdoors, Yeti Coolers, Wingo Belts, Montana Fly Company, The Fly Pack, Skinny Water Culture, Kast Gear, ARC Fishing, Smathers & Branson, Mud Dog Flies, and Postfly.

Cheeky is looking forward to hosting the event again in 2016.